ACM SIGMM Rising Star Award 2022

The winner of the SIGMM Rising Star for 2022 is Jianlong Fu for his significant contributions in Multimedia Search and Mining.

Dr Jianlong Fu is currently a Senior Research Manager with the Multimedia Search and Mining Group, Microsoft Research Asia (MSRA). He is now leading Multimedia Search and Mining Group, focusing on computer vision, image graphics, vision and language, especially on fine-grained image/video recognition and detection, multimedia content editing, personal media experience of browsing, searching, sharing and storytelling. He has shipped core technologies to several Microsoft products, including Windows, Office, Bing Multimedia Search, Azure Media Service, XiaoIce, etc.

He has been engaged in image and video analysis, and multimodal deep learning for text-based image and video retrieval, visual question answering, and visual reasoning in the past decade. He received the highest honor for outstanding Ph.D. graduate student of CAS in 2015, and then joined MSRA as a researcher. He quickly became a technical leader, and as a Senior Research Manager led the teams to conduct deep research in fine grained image and video analysis, which enable d advanced multimedia content curation and search experience for many Microsoft products. Due to his innovative works, he was awarded the 2018 ACM Multimedia Best Paper and won more than 10 world wide championships in multimedia.

He also served as organization committee members in many multimedia conferences, including the Industry Chair of ACM Multimedia’21 and the Demo Chair of ACM ICMR’21. He has also been the Area Chair of ACM Multimedia 2018-2022. In addition, he was the lead organizer of the first and second ACM Multimedia workshop on “AI meets Beauty” in 2019 and 2020, respectively, and the first ACM ICMR workshop on “Multimodal Pre -training for Multimedia Understanding” in 2021, to actively promote advanced multimedia research for both academia and industry.

Many Congratulations to Jianlong Fu!

Phoebe Chen
SIGMM Vice-Chair
On Behalf of SIGMM Rising Star Award Committee