ACM SIGMM Test of Time Paper award 2021

In 2020 SIGMM established the SIGMM Test-of-Time Paper award for a paper published 10, 11 or 12 years previously at a SIGMM-sponsored conference, including MM, MMSys, ICMR/CIVR, IH&MMSec, TVX, NOSSDAV, AVI or MIR.

The award recognizes the paper that has had the most impact and influence on the field of Multimedia in terms of research, development, product or ideas, during the intervening years, as selected by a 5-person selection committee.

In 2021, after careful consideration the committee decided that …

Winner (MM Systems & Networking):
Thomas Stockhammer, Dynamic Adaptive Streaming over HTTP - Standards and Design Principles, In Proceedings of the 2nd ACM Conference on Multimedia Systems, MMSys, pp. 133-144, 2011.

Honorable Mentions:

(MM Interfaces & Applications)
Florian Eyben, Martin Wöllmer, and Björn Schuller, Opensmile: The Munich versatile and fast open-source audio feature extractor. In Proceedings of the 18th ACM InternationalConference on Multimedia, MM pp. 1459-1462, 2010.

(MM Content Analysis, Retrieval, Query)
Nikhil Rasiwasia, Jose Costa Pereira, Emanuele Coviello, Gabriel Doyle, Gert R.G.
Lanckriet, Roger Levy, and Nuno Vasconcelos. A new approach to cross-modal
multimedia retrieval. In Proceedings of the 18th ACM International Conference on
Multimedia, MM '10, pp. 251-260, 2010.

(MM Security and Privacy)
Jan Kodovsky̒ and Jessica Fridrich, Calibration revisited, In Proceedings of the 11th ACM Workshop on Multimedia and Security, MM&Sec '09, pp. 63-74, 2009.

Selection Committee:

  • Klara Nahrstedt, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, US
  • Mohan Kankanhalli, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Shih-Fu Chang, Columbia University, US
  • John R Smith, General Co-Chair, ACM MULTIMEDIA 2021
  • Yang Yang, Program Co-Chair, ACM MULTIMEDIA 2021